Time to Bring It Home

Silivri, Turkey:  For the second time I checked out of the Golden Yat Hotel, said my thanks, loaded my bike, and entered Tekirdag’s morning rush hour traffic trying to get to Silivri.   This time I made it.

Today’s ride along the Sea of Marmar in the Thrace (European) part of Turkey was pleasant, but today’s cycling wasn’t about the journey.  Today’s ride was all about the destination and positioning myself on the edge of Istanbul, which finally comes into focus through all the grey clouds.  The end is in sight. Tomorrow I finish an expedition which spans 82 days, 16 countries, an unrelenting variety of challenges, and every possible human emotion.  Tomorrow I bring it home.

In another incredible display of Turkish generosity and hospitality, two cyclists from Istanbul are giving me a helping hand to the finish line.  After cycling on roads with wide shoulders for much of Turkey, 10 kilometers outside of Silivri, when the traffic picks up, the shoulder disappears.   Now I understand why Istanbul instills fear in some cyclists.

John, an American in Istanbul, braved the cold and clouds and traffic to cycle today from Istanbul to join me in Silivri.   Tomorrow John and I will be joined by a Turkish cyclist, Cetin, who will guide us on local roads into the heart of Istanbul, the only metropolis in the world situated on two continents.

It’s been much more of a fight to the finish line than I ever expected, but the Turkish people continue to shower me with warmth and welcome.   Today I stopped in a gas station for a quick rest.   The owner asked me where I come from and repeatedly said Nashville.   He then got his son, who lives in Nashville but happens to be in Turkey, on the phone.   After a quick chat the son asks me whether I need anything.   Even as I send this blogpost, I am benefitting from the helping hand of a hotel which did not get any of my business.   The wifi in my hotel does not work; no luck either at an internet cafe.   So I went to the only other place I could think of with wireless in town to compose this blogpost.

Tomorrow my parents arrive in Istanbul from Hong Kong to meet me, while my son anxiously waits in Hong Kong for them to bring me home.

Day 80:  Tekirdag — Silivri, Turkey

Distance:  72.42 kilometers

Ascent:  536 meters

Weather:  What a difference a day makes!

Terrain:  Gentle rolling hills

TransEuropa 2011 Expedition Summary:

Distance:  5,762.29 kilometers

Ascent:   40,936 meters

Countries:  16:  Portugal, Spain, France, Switzerland, Austria, Liechtenstein, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia, Greece, Turkey

Incidents:  6: flat tires on Days 45, 53 and 56;  police reprimand on Day 2; two terrorizing right-on-my-heels dog chases on Day 71

 

About Todd

Around-the-world cycling, one continent at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time to Bring It Home

  1. Susan Kimmel says:

    I’m SO EXCITED for you and the completion of your long long journey! Thinking of you, sending positive vibes, safe travels into the chaos of Istanbul. And home – Gute Reise!

  2. jennifer says:

    Go Todd! Go!!! : )

  3. Ellen says:

    Wowser, you make our little trip across the U.S. seem like a trip around the block compared with the adversities and challenges you’ve met and overcome on your epic adventure! Thank you for allowing me to travel along with you vicariously–I now need an exciting activity to look forward to everyday since tomorrow’s ride into Istanbul may be your trip’s final entry! Let me down gently, but celebrate big time! You are my hero!

    • Todd says:

      Elen, your tenacity and poise gave me much inspiration when the going got tough. You are my hero. One of the things that I will always remember from this ride is your warm and supportive messages of ‘I’m here with you,’ which made a very big difference to my morale. I also value your reminder that it’s the journey, not the destination, that counts. Thank you so much for joining me on this ride. My very best, and warmest regards, Todd

Leave a Reply

