Bicikile Frzop

Seget Donji, Croatia:   Every day this Tour de Folly reliably presents a fresh challenge.  Today’s challenge came early in my day, when my air pump broke as I was trying to add some extra pressure to my back tire.  Considering the streak of flats I’ve experienced this week, this wasn’t good news, and a pump is one of the few items in my kit for which I have no redundancy.

This development put a new focus on today’s ride.   After fruitlessly searching for a bike shop in several towns, as luck would have it I found a gem of a little bike shop in the unassuming small town of Vodice.   My instinct was to skip the town altogether, but I pulled over to a fruit and vegetable stall and asked if there’s a bike shop in the vicinity.  A helpful lady suggested I ride down a nearby residential street.   I was skeptical, but took her advice and headed into the neighborhood.   At the end of the street, in the most unlikely of places, was a real, well-stocked bike store, under the owner’s house, and with a garden in front.  Bicikile Frzop is the first bike store I have seen for hundreds of kilometers.  I felt like a kid in a candy store, and picked up some other spare things and made some minor adjustments to my bike.

With a new air pump in hand, I rode more confidently and easily through the Dalmatia region of Croatia’s coast.  The mountains have tapered to hills, and the rocks have given way to some fertile vegetation – especially olive trees and grape vines – while I continued on Route 8 along more of the Adriatic’s turquoise-tinged waters.

Here’s a link to this wonderfully helpful bicycle shop.  They’re good people.  Pay them a visit.

http://www.bicikle-frzop.hr/ 

 

Day 57:  Biograd na Moru – Seget Donji, Croatia

Distance:  112.98 kilometers

Ascent:  534 meters

Terrain:  Hilly, along the coast

Weather:  sunny skies but 35 degrees centigrade HOT.   Worked hard today to stay hydrated.

TransEuropa 2011 Trip Summary:

Distance:  4,187.25 kilometers

Ascent:   29,729 meters

Countries:  10:  Portugal, Spain, France, Switzerland, Austria, Liechtenstein, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia

Incidents:  4: flat tires on Days 45, 53 and 56;  police reprimand on Day 2

 

 

About Todd

Around-the-world cycling, one continent at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bicikile Frzop

  1. Ellen says:

    Hurray for you, Todd, to persevere and find that bike shop! I’d like to take a cushy tour of Crotia sometime, especially along the coast! You are doing all the traveling for all us arm-chair travelers! Hope to see some more pics soon! I’m with you all the way!

    • Todd says:

      Ellen, your many supportive messages are very much appreciated. I feel that you’re “with me,” and am much enjoying the company. Take care and my best, Todd

  2. Hi Todd, I am the guy in charge of the website from the Bike Shop & Repair in Croatia where you have been in 2011. I was wondering if you could leave a link in your post to the Bike Shop, so others could find it as well. The owner decided to make a website just now in 2014, due to complaints that its hard to find and only people who are bikers know for that place 🙂
    the bike shops new wesbite link is: http://www.bicikle-frzop.hr/
    and english language will be added soon.
    Thank you for your consideration

Leave a Reply

